NB Power

Skip to main content

Our Management Team

Our management team is comprised of New Brunswickers and long-time employees. Together, they’re working hard to make the right decisions for our customers today and tomorrow.


Gaetan Thomas

Gaëtan Thomas - President and CEO

Gaëtan was appointed President and CEO of NB Power in February 2010. Before this, he served as the Vice President of NB Power's Nuclear Division, a position he held since 2005 as well as the position of Vice President of NB Power's Distribution and Customer Service division. Gaëtan has a proven track record of over 30 years with operations experience in many areas of our business including Generation, Transmission, Distribution and Customer Service. He also holds a Bachelor of Engineering Degree (Electrical) from the University of New Brunswick and is a member of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of New Brunswick.

Keith Cronkhite

Keith Cronkhite - Vice President, Generation and Business Development

Keith is the Vice President of Generation and Business Development at NB Power. He oversees the utility's Generation division as well as the Strategic planning, Supply Chain, Fuels and Corporate Business initiatives. Keith has held various positions of increasing responsibility in operations and corporate departments at NB Power. Prior to joining NB Power, he worked in the private sector in Sales and Marketing. Keith has a Bachelor of Business Administration degree from the University of New Brunswick and is a current member of the Canadian Standards Association Technical Committee as well as the Atlantica Centre for Energy.

Darren Murphy

Darren Murphy - Vice President of Corporate Services and Chief Financial Officer

In June 2012, Darren was appointed Vice President of Corporate Services and Chief Financial Officer. His areas of responsibility include Finance, Human Resources, Information Systems, Voice Services, Environment and Regulatory Affairs. Darren joined NB Power's executive team in 2007 and in addition to his current role he has held a number of executive positions including Vice President of Distribution and Customer Service and Vice President of Transmission. He worked for over 17 years in Distribution field operations before joining the executive team. Darren is a member of the Board of Directors for the Nuclear Waste Management Organization and the New Brunswick Investment Management Corporation.

Sean Granville

Sean Granville, Site Vice President and Chief Nuclear Officer

Sean was appointed the Site Vice President and Chief Nuclear Officer at NB Power's Point Lepreau Generating Station, February 2013. Sean is accountable for navigating Point Lepreau Generating Station's strategic direction to achieve safe, predictable and productive nuclear performance. Sean's leadership and management experience is broad, having held commissioning, shift, operations and maintenance, organizational effectiveness, nuclear programs and executive positions during his 30 year career at Ontario Power Generation. Sean is a member of the Board of Directors for Canadian Nuclear Association and Candu Owners Group.

Wanda Harrison

Wanda Harrison - Corporate Secretary and General Counsel

Wanda was appointed corporate secretary and general counsel in 2002. She joined NB Power in 1989 as solicitor and co-ordinator of Regulatory Affairs and then served as senior solicitor. In 2012, in addition to her role as Corporate Secretary and General Counsel, she assumed responsibility for areas of Real Estate, Insurance, CADD/Print Shop, Facilities and Security.

Alden Briggs

Alden Briggs, Executive Director of Transmission and System Operator

Alden was appointed Executive Director of Transmission and System Operator on October 1, 2013. Prior to this, Alden was the Vice-President of Operations for the New Brunswick System Operator (NBSO). His career with NB Power started in 1979 as an Electrical Engineer in System Operations. In 1996, he moved to the Energy Control Center (ECC) to manage the Power System Operators and in 2004, he was seconded to the NBSO. Alden is NB Power's representative on various committees for the Northeast Power Coordinating Council (NPCC) and North American Electric Reliability Council (NERC). He is also on the Executive Committee of CIGRE Canada.

Brent Stabean

Brent Staeben, Director of Marketing and Communications

Brent came to NB Power in 2012 after a 20 year career with the New Brunswick public service. In that time he was Director of Communications for the Departments of Energy, Transportation and Human Resources Development; this included a decade at Service New Brunswick where he served as director for departments like marketing, communications and customer experience. Brent has graduate degrees in economics from the University of New Brunswick and Community Health and Epidemiology from Queens and is well known for his volunteer involvement with the New Brunswick music industry.


Kirby O'Donnell

Kirby O'Donnell, Executive Director of New Brunswick Energy Marketing

Kirby became the Executive Director of New Brunswick Energy Marketing on October 1, 2013 when the utility reintegrated and formed this new subsidiary. He has been with NB Power for 35 years, serving in various roles in both the Generation and Marketing divisions. He has overseen many important projects at the utility in supervisor roles in Dalhousie, Belledune and was a key player in developing the Energy Marketing group.